Falling, falling… the world of accelerating change, post SU

Help.  It wasn’t supposed to be like this.  
 
Image
 
Singularity University promised to “prepare humanity for accelerating technological change”.  I had naïvely assumed, packing my bag for summer at NASA on those rainy June days, they would start by preparing their own students. 
 
But no.
 
All SU have done is open my eyes to the acceleration.  And now I am getting severely lost in this world of newness.  There’s SO much going on, I can’t even begin to keep up, let alone work out where we should be building our thing. 
 
“Looking down and seeing the ground rushing past.”  
Sheila Hocken lost her sight very young and in her extraordinary book ‘Emma & I’ describes the unexpected challenges of her sudden ability to see after a sight-restoring operation.  The dizzying experience of seeing the ground rush past whilst merely walking forces her to close her eyes and let Emma, her guide dog, lead her again.  They say that entrepreneurship is like jumping out of a plane clutching all the pieces to build a parachute on the way down.  A good friend of mine described his startup experience as “18 months of free fall”. (Who needs a parachute?)  Bertrand Piccard speaks of learning to change attitude to change altitude – philosophically applying lessons from hot air ballooning to entrepreneurial environmental activism for www.solarimpulse.com.  
 
Feels like every time I talk to someone or peek at twitter, I move up a Level in the Game of Innovation.  For example, a chance conversation at the future cities conference I went to yesterday led me to http://quid.com (just one of twenty amazing ideas I discovered, impressed as I am with www.CityMart.com, Quid makes my shoulders shiver and I shout “This! This! THIS!”).  Those billion idiots building the Game of Innovation are building new levels faster than I can play them.  Where can I get me some cheat code?
 
Welcome to freefall.  There is no parachute.  There is no spoon.  Edison said “Hell, there are no rules here – we’re trying to accomplish something.”  Astronauts Dan Barry and Yvonne Cagle spoke at SU of the unexpected challenges of returning to Earth, and gravity. “They warn you not to hold the baby, in case you just let go and expect him to float.”  I suppose we get used to gravity, and the rush of the Earth’s rotation, our galaxy flinging itself through space.  So I’ll get used to this acceleration, until it becomes my new normal.
 
Meanwhile, I’ll sit here noodling on the net, dizzy, the ground rushing by beneath me in my twitterfeed, humming ‘A Letter to Elise’ by the Cure:
And every time I try to pick it up
Like falling sand
As fast as I pick it up
It runs away through my clutching hands
But there’s nothing else I can really do
There’s nothing else I can really do
There’s nothing else I can really do
At all
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

